Log in
Log in

Chamber News





Chamber Elections - November 2, 2021

10/25/2021 8:51 PM | Don Fish Jr. (Administrator)

The Phelan Chamber of Commerce will be holding its annual general meeting (aka luncheon) on November 2, 2021, at the Phelan Pizza Factory, starting at noon.  At this time, the election of the 2022 Board of Directors will take place.  We are asking that all members attend this meeting to cast their votes. There will also be an option to vote online if you cannot participate in the meeting to vote in person.  An email will be sent to each Chamber Member with online voting instructions and a timeline. If you vote online, you will not be able to vote in person.  Any member wishing to write in another member for a position will be able to do so both in-person and online. Nominations will also be taken from the floor prior to the vote taking place.  

To comply with the newly adopted Phelan Chamber Bylaw changes passed by chamber membership earlier this year, board directors have been reduced from five directors to three directors. Additionally, all board positions are now two-year terms, with half of the board being elected in even years and the other half being elected in odd years.

Therefore, the following changes have been made for the 2022 year:

  1. Treasurer: Currently, Jeanna Mills is holding two positions, Past President and Treasurer. She will be resigning as treasurer, and the board will be appointing Faith Maldonado as the treasurer for the 2022 year. The treasurer position will come up for reelection for a two-year term in 2023, which aligns this position with the current Bylaws.
  2. Number of Directors: Currently, the board consists of 11 positions—five directors, president, past president, vice president, treasurer, secretary, and honorary mayor. Starting in 2022, the number of directors positions will be three, with the total number of board directors reducing to nine.
  3. Board of directors terms: Each board member position will serve a two-year term. The exception is the honorary mayor, who will be a one-year term and the past president, which is automatically filled by the most recent past Phelan Chamber president.
  4. Yearly board elections: Half of the board will be elected in odd years, and the other half will be elected in even years, and the honorary mayor will be elected every year. The past president is an appointed position filled by the most recent past Phelan Chamber president. To align with the current bylaws, the board president, secretary, and two directors positions will be elected in even years, 2022 is an even year. In odd years the board vice president, treasurer, and one director will be elected. In both odd and even years, an honorary mayor will be elected for a one-year term. Additionally, to align the three directors' positions with the new bylaws, one current 2021 directors position will be a one-year term instead of two. Meaning that position will be up for election for the 2022 year. Previously, all directors' positions were two-year terms that came up for election simultaneously. The incumbents holding the remaining directors' positions have been informed and are aware of the term changes occurring for the 2022 elections.

The current 2021 Phelan Chamber Board of Directors is as follows:

  • President: Rebecca Kujawa
  • Past President: Jeanna Mills
  • Vice President: Don Fish Jr.
  • Secretary: Nikki Ewing
  • Treasurer: Jeanna Mills
  • Honorary Mayor: Currently unfilled
  • Director: Robert Chacon
  • Director: Michelle Hannon
  • Director: Kathy Hoffman
  • Director: Davy Feller
  • Director: Isabel Natividad

The 2022 slate of candidates running for election to the Phelan Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors is as follows:

  • President: Rebecca Kujawa, incumbent, unopposed
  • Secretary: Nikki Ewing, incumbent, unopposed
  • Honorary Mayor: Todd Anton, unopposed
  • Two Directors Positions: Davy Feller, incumbent, unopposed & Robert Chacon, incumbent, unopposed

Our Platinum Partners For Community Growth



Where Business Is A Pleasure

Call or Fax Us
Office: 1-760-299-5098

P.O. Box 290010
Phelan, CA  92329

The Phelan Chamber of Commerce is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

©2019 The Phelan Chamber of Commerce

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software